Cannoli Dip
Recipes

Cannoli Dip

Having a girls night, or need a quick dessert for a party?  The Cannoli Dip recipe below is sure to be a hit.  Pair it with your favorite bottle of wine and set of wine charms, and you’ve got quite a fun night ahead!  Visit Charmed By Wine on Etsy for handmade wine charm sets, and other beaded & wine-related gifts. 
   – Enjoy!

 

It’s no secret that my family is Italian.  It’s also no secret that I LOVE a good Cannoli, but boy do they take effort (unless you buy the shells, I suppose…. but what’s authentic about that?)  This Cannoli Dip turned out to be a GREAT stand-in snack.  My cousin made it for a work party and let me know that it was a great hit which of course piqued my curiosity (and my sweet tooth!) and led me to add it to the menu of a “girls night” gathering.

Since I can never prepare a recipe exactly as written, I’ll give the link to the original, and then re-write my version with changes below. ☺️

Original: http://www.cookingclassy.com/2013/04/cannoli-dip/

Cannoli Dip (with my changes)

Ingredients:

  • 15oz Ricotta Cheese (strained)
  • 8oz Mascarpone Cheese
  • 2/3 cup powdered sugar (maybe more, depending on personal preference!)
  • 1/2 cup 1% milk (optional. I added this as a substitute for the 1cup heavy cream that I omitted in an attempt to be healthier! I think the recipe would’ve been fine without any cream or milk too.)
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips (but let’s be honest, we’ll all dump in at least 1 cup worth!)

Directions:

  • Strain the Ricotta cheese into a mixing bowl.  I used a combination of cheesecloth and paper towels to soak up as much moisture as possible.  Coffee filters may work instead of a cheesecloth as well.  Basically anything able to hold a lump of ricotta, and be closed/twisted as to squeeze the water out!  It doesn’t need to be perfect, but the stiffer/drier the ricotta, the thicker the dip.  We’re going for Cannoli consistency.
  • Using a spatula, combine the strained ricotta and mascarpone cheese, pressing out any lumps to make a smooth mixture.
  • Mix in the powdered sugar 1/3cup at a time (feel free to taste test and add more if needed!).  The mixture should taste cheesy with a hint of sweetness.
  • Add in the optional milk little by little while stirring, making sure to keep a fairly thick consistency.
  • Fold in the chocolate chips (do another taste test!) and voila!  Done!

Serve chilled, with any sort of dip carrier (for the record, chocolate graham crackers work GREAT!).  Fruit or other cookie-type things (cannoli shell chips, biscotti, etc) may work as well.

The mixture freezes well too!  Feel free to make ahead, freeze and then thaw in the fridge.

The cheese ingredients made me a little nervous about the likability of this recipe for non-Italians (Considering I’ve grown up eating this stuff, who knows what everyone else thinks of it!), but in all honesty the graham crackers really do add a little something extra to make the flavor feel complete and for this recipe to pass with flying colors.

Definitely one for the family recipe file.

Chime in...

