Recipes

Iced Coffee using Coffee Ice Cubes

Coffee Confession #1:  I drink old coffee.

Coffee Confession #2: I can probably only do this because I don’t like black coffee (and the coffee we do make is good quality deliciousness!)

Coffee Confession #3: I’m pretty sure the only reason I started drinking coffee at all was for things like iced cappuccinos, peppermint mochas and flavored creamers.  I’m not pretty sure, I’m POSITIVE this was the reason.

Whew!  Feels good to get that out in the open.

So, a few weeks ago we had day-old coffee sitting in the pot — more than the cup I drink at any given time.  Mark was about to dump it when I remembered reading something about homemade iced coffee drinks — with COFFEE ICE CUBES.

Perfect Opportunity!!  We dug out the ice cube trays and filled one perfectly with the old coffee. Into the freezer it went!  Now that we finally broke 70 degrees, I feel like I can go experiment with drink recipes.  Starting with the ones below!

 

Iced Coffee Recipes

 

*** Iced Mocha: ***

http://honestlyyum.com/4320/iced-mocha-with-coffee-cubes/

*** Iced Coffee Cocktails: ***

http://www.sheknows.com/food-and-recipes/articles/809451/iced-coffee-cocktails/page:2

If you’ve been following my blog for awhile, you should know by now that I barely ever measure ingredients… and today was no exception.  Overall, my creation came out on the creamier side (which means I needed to add more coffee flavor/coffee cubes).  Otherwise, the consistency and overall taste was great.  Once I perfect the recipe a little, I’ll have a great cheap alternative to iced cappuccinos at Tim Hortons (or Dunkin Donuts, or Starbucks or whatever is in your area!).

For this, and most of my other smoothie/drink-making, I use an immersion blender instead of a blender, usually because I’m not making a large quantity. It’s a LOT more convenient than a blender, and really only needs a quick rinse afterwards. I’d highly recommend the Cuisinart one that I have.  It comes with it’s own blender cup, detaches for easy washing, and best of all -comes in a dozen or so cute colors!

immersionblender
Cuisinart Immersion Blender (Amazon)

 

My Imperfect Recipe: 

(Feel free to adjust this as needed!)

  • 6 coffee cubes
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup creamer (I used international delight french vanilla)

Drop all ingredients in the blender cup, and blend until ice is broken up enough (some people like them more icy, some more smooth).  Mine wasn’t quite slushy enough (again, probably too much liquid, not enough coffee cubes), so I stuck it in the freezer for about 5 minutes – and it was perfect!

In hindsight, I could have chosen to:

  • cut the milk/creamer down to 1/2 cup total to go with the 6 cubes.
  • increase to 8-10 cubes
  • add some cold coffee if I had it available (again, just for more coffee flavor)

Fast, easy and tasty though!  I’ll definitely be experimenting with this over the summer…

1 thought on “Iced Coffee using Coffee Ice Cubes”

Chime in...

